League City Historic District
& Local Museums
League City’s Historic District showcases the city’s authentically Texan roots, distinct southern flair, and iconic live oak trees. Historic homes and buildings are scattered throughout the district, along with museums, gardens, parks, boutiques, and restaurants.
the Historic District
Located within the 500–900 block of E. Main St. (FM 518) in League City
A QUICK AND EASY GUIDE TO EXPLORING
LEAGUE CITY'S HISTORIC DISTRICT
This local park is one of League City’s crowning jewels, and historically important to the city. The park was gifted to the city by its namesake, J.C. League, along with a two-story bandstand gazebo. A band would perform on the second story of the gazebo, while vendors sold refreshments like ice cream on the ground level.
The original gazebo was destroyed in the infamous 1900 hurricane, rebuilt, then destroyed again by a fire a few years later. A new gazebo was constructed in 1976 in celebration of America’s bicentennial, and that gazebo still stands today.
The park has been a local gathering place for events like concerts, festivals, parties, and more for over 100 years. League Park recently underwent renovations to restore it to its 19th-century look, and remains a beautiful place to visit. A Boundless playground is also on site for children of all abilities to enjoy.
Visit League Park at 512 2nd St.
First built in 1909 and located in the heart of the historic district, this property was once the location of League City’s first bank, and was the city's first brick building. Since then, the building has seen many businesses come and go including a post office, café, hardware store, drug store, and residential apartments. In fact, you can still step inside the original vault from its days as a bank. Only recently in the building’s long history has its antique appeal served as a stunning backdrop for momentous occasions, private events, and nuptial celebrations. Learn more about Butler's Courtyard at butlerscourtyard.com
Visit Butler's Courtyard at 122 N Michigan St.
One of the most photographed places in League City, this beautiful garden was established in 1994 to honor the memory of League City philanthropist, Helen Hall. Helen Hall was born Helen Lewis in League City in 1907. After marrying her High School sweetheart, Walter Hall, Helen went on to become the city's first female postmaster and helped establish League City's first library, which is also named after her. Helen passed away in 1981, and the garden was created by her husband, through the League City Garden Club—of which Helen was a charter member.
Take a seat on one of the park benches and listen to the gentle sound of the waterfall while the scent of floral blooms perfume the air. This park is a hot spot for photographers, so make sure to take a few pictures when you visit.
Visit Helen's Garden at 701 E. Main St.
The Shoppes at Founder’s Square
While most of the houses in the Historic District are privately owned and not open for tours, the Shoppes at Founder’s Square offer a peek inside some of League City’s historic homes. Founder’s Square is made up of four locally-owned boutiques, a tea room, and a Pilates studio, all located within century-old homes. Browse unique gift items, gourmet treats and coffees, jewelry, clothing, and more. Sip tea and enjoy finger foods at the tea room or renew and restore the body at the Pilates studio. Each shop has its own charm—from gorgeous Victorian architecture on the outside to whimsical assortments of treasures on the inside—and the shop owners are friendly and hospitable. Founder’s Square is located within walking distance from League Park, Helen’s Garden, and several eateries within the League City Historic District. Learn more.
Visit the Shoppes at Founder’s Square at 501 E Main St.
West Bay Common Schoolchildren’s Museum & Barn Museum
This area was once League City’s main thoroughfare. J.C. League, the city’s founder, donated the land specifically to accommodate a school. The original schoolhouse was destroyed by the 1900 hurricane, but another historic schoolhouse stands in its place to showcase what school was like for children in the late 19th century. Next door to the schoolhouse is the Barn Museum, which once housed League City’s first fire station. The original fire hose is displayed outside the museum. Inside the Barn Museum you will find an eclectic collection of artifacts that tell the story of League City’s history, along with a gift shop. This historic area also features a restored 1920s Icehouse/Barbershop, along with other historic structures and artifacts. Learn more at oneroomschoolhouse.org
Visit this historic site at 210 N Kansas Ave.
Railroad Section House
T.J. & Mary Lelia Dick House
In 1904, Galveston County Commissioner T. J. Dick built this residence primarily of cypress timbers. The steps and foundation blocks are made of the same granite used for the Galveston Seawall. At the front of the house, the hitching post was also used by the ladies for easy horse dismounting. The Texas Historical Commission officially recognized it as a Texas Historic Landmark in 1993.
Today, the home is known as Lelia Southern Settings, and is a gorgeous bridal and baby shower venue. Brides and moms-to-be can enjoy a vintage-themed shower in a beautiful home, decorated with the theme of their choice.
See the T.J. & Mary Lelia Dick House at 720 2nd St.
Station Master's House
Now repurposed as the League City Visitor Center and Soulfreak Railroad Cafe, this building was once the home of the Railroad Station Master of the GH&H (Galveston, Houston, & Henderson) Railroad Company. The home was built between 1887 and 1897 and is a beautiful example of Folk Victorian architecture. The historic house resides in League Park, a stone’s throw from the historic railroad that was the first rail line to connect Galveston to the Texas mainland. Visitors can appreciate the architectural details, including the jigsaw trim along the porch and the sunburst design in the gables. Inside, guests can place their orders at the cafe and enjoy the atmosphere while they shop for souvenirs, browse brochures, or participate in scheduled activities.
Visit the new Visitor Center & Cafe at 512 2nd St.
Historic Homes and Majestic Oaks Tour
Explore League City's Victorian and Early 20th Century Architecture and Century-Old Oaks
Drive or stroll through the Historic District, and view dozens of examples of Victorian architecture, all beneath the sprawling canopies of majestic century-old live oak trees. The homes listed on the tour are occupied and not open for indoor tours, but their architectural beauty can be easily seen from the roads and sidewalks. The Historic Homes Tour brochure, seen below, gives a short history of each home and building listed. In following the tour map, you will learn the stories of some of League City's first families and what life was like in League City, Texas at the turn of the century.